the arrival

Tuesday – 31 May 2011

When I think back on some of my favourite life experiences, India always ranks higher than most. Travelling solo in one of the most interesting and  culturally unique countries without the smidge of what I was getting myself into was definitely the best way to start any sort of adventure.

After what seemed like a lifetime of delays and flights between Johannesburg, Mumbai and Delhi; the eventual landing on the military airstrip in the Blue City was like touching down on golden land. Kerry’s smiling face and a rickshaw to journey to my wonderful blue guesthouse (while dodging a few cows) made me realise that I was finally in India, a country I had previously read about in awe and daydreamed of one day travelling.

. . . by Thursday evening I would be trading this city for a small desert village – where my real adventure wished to begin.

Leave a Reply

